raising awareness of threats to publicly available data; exploring the power dynamics of data creation, sharing, and retention; and teaching ways to make endangered data more accessible and secure

#critlib Twitter chat: Endangered Data

This is a virtual/online event.

Date & Local Time: 2017-04-17 9:00:00 PM
Location: #critlib | #critlib
Website: http://critlib.org/endangered-data/

Critlib is short for “critical librarianship,” a movement of library workers dedicated to bringing social justice principles into our work in libraries. We aim to engage in discussion about critical perspectives on library practice. Recognizing that we all work under regimes of white supremacy, capitalism, and a range of structural inequalities, how can our work as librarians intervene in and disrupt those systems?

This chat will focus on the ways in which governmental data impacts us all, and will talk about tactics for teaching information and data literacy skills as a civic duty.

This event will take place on twitter using the #critlib hashtag. Questions will be posted ahead of time on the website.

6pm Pacific / 7pm Mountain / 8pm Central / 9pm Eastern

Contact: Brandon Locke & Sarah Melton